RMA Book Prizes

Nominate word from wooden blocks on desk

To celebrate the move of the Journal of the Royal Musical Association and the Royal Musical Association Research Chronicle to Cambridge University Press, the Royal Musical Association is launching two new annual book prizes, sponsored by Cambridge University Press:

RMA/Cambridge University Press Monograph Prize

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of a musicological monograph study focused on any under-represented cultural groups, as defined by (for example) gender, race, sexuality, cultural and religious heritage.

RMA/Cambridge University Press Outstanding Edited Collection Book Prize 

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding edited collection in the field of musicological practice, which can be considered as significantly shaping its field of study. Submissions should include a statement explaining why the collection should be considered especially ground-breaking. The prize will be awarded to the collection’s editor(s).

Nomination Process

Each prize will be adjudicated by a dedicated panel, who will consider any book (from any publisher) that meets the prize criteria and has a copyright date of 2019.

To be considered, nominations, including self-nominations, should be made to the chair of the awards committee, Dr Elaine Kelly (elaine.kelly@ed.ac.uk), by 1 April 2020. Nominators must arrange with the chair of the awards committee for three copies of the nominated book to be sent individually to each member of the relevant prize panel, and are responsible for arranging with the publishers to have copies sent out. The RMA will not under any circumstances purchase copies for consideration for any prize.

The prizes will be announced at the Annual General Meeting, held each September during the RMA’s Annual Conference.

Prize Panels

Chair of Awards Committee
Dr Elaine Kelly

RMA/Cambridge University Press Monograph
Barbara Kelly (Chair)
Annika Forkert
Rebecca Herissone

RMA/Cambridge University Press Outstanding Edited Collection
Elaine Kelly (Chair)
Natasha Loges
Deborah Mawer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *