RMA/Cambridge University Press Book Prizes 2022

Nominations are invited for the RMA’s two annual book prizes, sponsored by Cambridge University Press.

RMA/Cambridge University Press Monograph Prize

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of a musicological monograph study focused on any under-represented cultural groups, as defined by (for example) gender, race, sexuality, cultural and religious heritage.

RMA/Cambridge University Press Outstanding Edited Collection Book Prize 

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding edited collection in the field of musicological practice, which can be considered as significantly shaping its field of study, and which embodies the RMA’s commitment to promoting diversity and equality. Submissions should include a statement clearly explaining how the collection meets these published criteria. The prize will be awarded to the collection’s editor(s).

Nomination Process

Each prize will be adjudicated by a dedicated panel, who will consider any book (from any publisher) that meets the prize criteria and has a copyright date of 2021.

To be considered, nominations, including self-nominations, should be made to the chair of the awards committee, Sarah Hibberd (sarah.hibberd@bristol.ac.uk), by 1 April 2022. Nominators must arrange with the chair of the awards committee for a copy of the nominated book to be sent individually to each member of the relevant prize panel, or (preferred) an electronic copy should be sent to the chair. Nominators are responsible for arranging with the publishers to have copies sent out. The RMA will not under any circumstances purchase copies for consideration for any prize.

The prizes will be announced at the Annual General Meeting, held each September during the RMA’s Annual Conference.

Prize Panels

Chair of Awards Committee
Sarah Hibberd

RMA/Cambridge University Press Monograph
Sarah Hibberd
Nicola Dibben
Clair Rowden

RMA/Cambridge University Press Outstanding Edited Collection
Elaine Kelly
Tom Attah
Mark Berry


  1. It is not a requirement that they be in English for the 2022 prize (for books with a copyright date in 2021) but this may change in future years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *