The Dent Medal

The Dent Medal, struck in memory of the distinguished scholar and musician Edward J. Dent (1876-1957), has been awarded by the Royal Musical Association annually since 1961 to recipients selected for their outstanding contribution to musicology. A list of all medal recipients is available here.

The Medal is awarded to scholars in mid-career, typically indicated by time from the completion of their PhD or first academic appointment. Candidates are selected on the basis of published scholarship, and the outstanding contribution to musicology may consist of either a single large-scale study or a body of work. Musicology is understood in broad terms, and eligible works may include (but are not limited to) monographs, collections of essays, articles, critical editions, and digital resources.

Nominations may be made by trustees of the RMA or members of the IMS Directorium. Self-nominations are not permitted. Nominators should write to the chair of the Awards Committee, supplying a page describing the nominee’s contribution according to the criteria described above, and furnishing references to the nominee’s published scholarship and to relevant biography (or a link to a webpage, encyclopedia article or other source where such information may appear).

Nominations and supporting documents should be received by 1 April. The Awards Committee’s recommendation will be submitted to the following meeting of Council, and, if approved, the award will be announced at the Annual General Meeting, held each September during the RMA’s Annual Conference.