RMA logo

The Royal Musical Association

About the RMA

In this section:

Activities and History

What is the RMA?




Joining the RMA

Contact Us


RMA Council

Council Members


Reports & Accounts

RMA Committees




Finance, Membership and Communications



External Affairs


An old-fashioned type writer

Council Members & Officers

Council Members

Council Members are Directors of the company and Trustees of the charity.

President and past presidents; vice presidents; ordinary members; officers and associates

President (2011-2014 and 2014-2017)

Mark Everist
University of Southampton

President Elect (to serve as President 2018-2020)

Simon McVeigh
Goldsmiths, University of London

Hon. Treasurer

Valerie James

Immediate Past President

Philip Olleson
University of Nottingham (RMA President 2008-2011)

Past Presidents

John Deathridge
King's College London (RMA President, 2005-2008)

Hugh Cobbe OBE FSA
Former Head of British Collections and Head of Music (1985-2001) at the British Library (RMA President, 2002-2005)

Sir Curtis Price
New College, Oxford (RMA President, 1999-2002)

Julian Rushton
University of Leeds (RMA President, 1994-1999)

Vice Presidents

(maximum of six; appointed annually)

Rachel Cowgill (to 2017)
University of Huddersfield

Chris Banks (to 2018)
Imperial College London

Barbara Kelly (to 2019)
Keele University

Warwick Edwards (to 2020)
University of Glasgow

Pauline Fairclough (to 2021)
University of Bristol

Ordinary Members of Council

(serving for three calendar years)

To 2017:

Laudan Nooshin
City University, London

Catherine Tackley
The Open University

Simon McVeigh
Goldsmiths, University of Londonl

To 2018:

Julian Horton
Durham University

Mieko Kanno
Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Michael Spitzer
University of Liverpool

To 2019:

Piers Hellawell
Queens University Belfast

Andrew Kirkman
University of Birmingham

Cormac Newark
Guildhall School of Music and Drama

Caroline Rae
Cardiff University

RMA Officers and Associates

Those listed below are entitled to attend Council meetings and may take part freely in discussion but may not vote on decisions.

Executive Officer

Dr Jeffrey Dean

Membership Development Officer

Katy Hamilton

Student Liaison Officer

Susan Bagust

Student Representatives

Nuria Bonet (2016-2018)
Plymouth University

Phil Robinson (2017-2019)
University of Manchester

Chairs of Events Committee and Publications Committee

Chair of the Publications Committee

Simon Keefe
University of Glasgow

Chair of the Events Committee

Professor Thomas Schmidt

Convenor of the Scottish Chapter

Dr Eva Moreda Rodriguez
University of Glasgow

Representative to Society for Musicology in Ireland

Dr Aidan Thomson
Queen's University Belfast

See also

RMA Home Page RMA Facebook Group RMA Twitter Feed

Contact Us
Corrections or additions? Contact the website editor.