Warning: Declaration of Imbalance2_Walker_Nav_Menu::start_lvl(&$output, $depth) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_lvl(&$output, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in D:\rma.ac.uk\wwwroot\students\wp-content\themes\imbalance2\functions.php on line 105

Warning: Declaration of Imbalance2_Walker_Nav_Menu::end_lvl(&$output, $depth) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::end_lvl(&$output, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in D:\rma.ac.uk\wwwroot\students\wp-content\themes\imbalance2\functions.php on line 105
Student Committee Election Results! | Royal Musical Association – Student Blog
RMA logo

The Royal Musical Association

Student Blog

Latest Tweets

Student Committee Election Results!

By rmablogadmin / / News / No Comments

Happy new year!

I hope you all had a wonderful time at this year’s Research Students’ Conference at the University of Bristol. It was nice to see so many familiar faces and so many new ones. For those of you who were unable to attend the conference, we’ll soon be posting a report here on the Blog, so keep your eyes peeled! Many thanks to all of those who assisted in the organisation of the conference and helped to make it such a great success!


The second ever Student Committee Election Hustings took place on the first day of the conference, and I’m pleased to report that all five candidates who put themselves forward made an excellent case for their election.

Before welcoming the new members, I would like to say a big thank you to the outgoing members of the Student Committee, especially to Emily Payne who has done a fantastic job as Student Representative and Committee Chair. You have been a pleasure to work with. Thanks also to our outgoing ordinary members, Joanne Bolland and Leo Tobisch. I wish you all the best for the future!

I’m delighted to welcome our new committee members: James Taylor (University of Bristol), who received the highest number of votes and becomes our new Student Representative, and Rachel McCarthy (Royal Holloway, University of London) and Rachel Johnson (Royal Northern College of Music), the new ordinary committee members. I look forward to working with you all over the next year! You can find out more about the RMA Student Committee members here.


2014 was a brilliant year for the Student Blog which has received over 20,000 hits since last January. The Blog has published a diverse range of content since then, including a discussion board linked to the JRMA‘s roundtable article on ‘Modernism and its Others’, which provoked engaging, and sometimes heated, debate, and an interview with the 2013 recipient of the RMA’s Dent Medal, Prof. Elizabeth Eva Leach.

The RMA Student Committee represents all student members of the RMA. We make sure that your voice is part of the RMA’s decision-making process and are always thinking of new ways to connect with you and to raise your ideas and concerns. We are always looking for new suggestions – for the Blog, for Study Days, and for anything else you can think of – so if you have a moment, do have a think and let us know if you’d like to contribute something new.

I hope you all have a productive year, and I look forward to seeing some of you at next year’s RSC at the University of Bangor (6-8 January 2016). Save the date!

All the best,

Peter Atkinson

Student Representative and Chair of the RMA Student Committee

Leave a Reply

RMA Home Page RMA Facebook Group RMA Twitter Feed

Corrections or additions? Contact the website editor.