RMA Book Prizes

Collection of books randomly positioned as seen from above

Recent Recipients

RMA/Cambridge University Press Book Prizes 2021

About the RMA Book Prizes

In association with Cambridge University Press, publisher of the Journal of the Royal Musical Association and the Royal Musical Association Research Chronicle, the Royal Musical Association offers two book prizes annually:

RMA/Cambridge University Press Monograph Prize

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of a musicological monograph study focused on any under-represented cultural groups, as defined by (for example) gender, race, sexuality, cultural and religious heritage.

RMA/Cambridge University Press Outstanding Edited Collection Book Prize 

£500 in books

This prize will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding edited collection in the field of musicological practice, which can be considered as significantly shaping its field of study, and which embodies the RMA’s commitment to promoting diversity and equality. Submissions should include a statement clearly explaining how the collection meets these published criteria. The prize will be awarded to the collection’s editor(s).

Nomination Process

Each prize will be adjudicated by a dedicated panel, who will consider any book (from any publisher) that meets the prize criteria and has a copyright date in the previous calendar year.