RMA logo

The Royal Musical Association

Area Title

Study Groups & Chapters

 

Scottish Chapter

The RMA Scottish Chapter coordinates and publicizes RMA-affiliated events at the Universities of Aberdeen, Edinburgh, and Glasgow, and at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. It encourages participants to feel part of a UK-wide musical community and aims to enhance awareness in Scotland of the considerable range of benefits available to RMA members.

Forthcoming Chapter events

2013

Thu 26 Oct

U of Edinburgh

Professor Elizabeth Eva Leach (University of Oxford): How Can a Book with No Music in it be an Important Musical Source? The Case of Oxford, Bodleian Library MS, Douce 308

Thu 3 Oct

U of Aberdeen

Professor Paul Banks (Royal College of Music): One Man’s Britten: A New Source for the Reception History of the Music of Benjamin Britten

Thu 3 Oct

U of Edinburgh

Dr Nikki Moran (University of Edinburgh): ‘Testing, Testing... 1,2’: Experimenting with the Perceived Unity of Duo Performance

Wed 9 Oct

U of Glasgow

Professor Mira T. Sundara Rajan (University of Glasgow): More Than Musicians: Moral Rights and Digital Issues in Music

Thu 10 Oct

U of Aberdeen

Professor John Irving (DeNOTE, IMR, Trinity-Laban): Mozart on the Hass Clavichord

Thu 10 Oct

U of Edinburgh

Dr Jules Rawlinson (University of Edinburgh): Visual Infosthetics and Sonic Gesture: The Art and Design of Graphic Scores

Wed 16 Oct

U of Glasgow

Dr Louise Harris (University of Glasgow): Reflection, Introspection, Direction

Thu 17 Oct

U of Edinburgh

Dr Goffredo Plastino (University of Newcastle): The Revival of the Calabrian Lira

Wed 23 Oct

U of Glasgow

Dr Simon McKerrell (University of Newcastle): Traditional Arts and the State: the Scottish Case

Thu 24 Oct

U of Aberdeen

Dr Motje Wolf (De Montfort University): Ears II

Thu 31 Oct

U of Edinburgh

Professor Anastasia Georgaki (University of Athens): Title tbc [music technology related]

Thu 7 Nov

U of Aberdeen

Dr David Hunter (University of Texas at Austin): Handel, Slavery, and the new Financial Capitalism

Thu 7 Nov

U of Edinburgh

Dr Tim Boon (Science Museum, London): Music for Spaces: Music for Space

Wed 13 Nov

U of Glasgow

Fergus Linehan (Edinburgh International Festival): Searching for the Right Questions: A Year as a Director Designate

Thu 14 Nov

U of Edinburgh

Professor Ross Duffin (Case Western University, USA): How Equal Temperament Ruined Harmony (and why you should care)

Thu 21 Nov

U of Edinburgh

Dr Alinka Greasley (University of Leeds): Mixtapes and Turntablism: DJs’ Perspectives on Musical Shape

Wed 27 Nov

U of Glasgow

Professor Stephen Downes (University of Surrey): On the Musically Sentimental

Thu 28 Nov

U of Aberdeen

Professor Ian Russell (University of Aberdeen): The English Village Carol

Thu 28 Nov

U of Edinburgh

Professor Eric Clarke (University of Oxford): Lost and Found in Music

Thu 12 Dec

U of Aberdeen

Professor David J. Smith (University of Aberdeen): The Interconnection of Religious, Social, and Musical Networks: Creating a Context for the Keyboard Music of Peter Philips and its Dissemination

 

 

 

2014

Wed 22 Jan

U of Glasgow

Dr David Code (University of Glasgow): Mozart Films the Vietnam War: Music, Nation and Gender in Kubrick’s ‘Full Metal Jacket’

Wed 5 Feb

U of Glasgow

Professor Ross Duffin (Case Western Reserve University): Just Intonation in the 18th Century

Wed 19 Feb

U of Glasgow

Dr Sarah Hibberd (University of Nottingham): Good Vibrations: ‘Frankenstein’ on the London Stage

Wed 5 Mar

U of Glasgow

Dr Mieko Kanno (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland): Critical Path Analysis: How To Learn a Piece of Music as Quickly and Efficiently as Possible

Wed 19 Mar

U of Glasgow

Dr David McGuinness (University of Glasgow) & Dr Karen McAulay (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland): Bass culture in Scottish Musical Traditions: How Low Can You Go?


Warwick Edwards (Scottish Chapter Organiser, email Warwick.Edwards@glasgow.ac.uk)

Home - Contacts - Validate
Corrections or additions? Contact the website editor.